MENU CLOSE

Our Story

As early as the 1860’s limestone has been quarried at various sites around North Otago, to build some of New Zealand’s most prominent architecturally designed buildings.

In 1906 the first stone was quarried from the current site on the Parkside farm. Some of the first stone produced from Parkside was used to build Ōamaru’s iconic Opera House.

These days, all the other quarries are gone, but Parkside remains quarrying this high grade creamy limestone, that has enhanced exteriors and interiors with an impressive range of styles for over 100 years.